Our Beaches and Foreshores


With over 190 kilometres of coastline along Port Phillip and Western Port, Mornington Peninsula Shire has a strong interest and long-standing commitment to being leaders in coastal planning and management. The Shire has developed a suite of coastal plans to guide the management and future of our coastlines.

We encourage residents and visitors to our beaches to report any issues they find using the Report a Problem tool.  If you are visiting one of the beaches along the Mornington Peninsula National Park, please report issues to Parks Victoria.

The Shire directly manages several coastal foreshore reserves on the Peninsula (Council is the appointed committee of management pursuant to the Crown Land (Reserves) Act 1978 or the freehold landowner), including:

  • Flinders Foreshore (northern section)
  • Hastings Foreshore
  • Mornington Foreshore: Fishermans, Mills, Scout, Shire Hall Beaches
  • Mount Eliza Foreshore: Canadian Bay, Daveys Bay, Earimil North and South, Moondah, Ranelagh, Sunnyside Beaches
  • Mount Martha Foreshore: Mount Martha North and South Beaches
  • Portsea Foreshore: Fishermans, Shelley beaches
  • Rosebud Foreshore: McCrae, Rosebud Beaches
  • Rye Foreshore: Rye Beach
  • Safety Beach Foreshore: Safety Beach
  • Sorrento Foreshore: Sorrento Beach

Some of these beaches have boatsheds / bathings boxes.

Other foreshores are managed by volunteer Committees of Management.

Download: Committees of Management Map(PDF, 1MB)

The Mornington Peninsula National Park beaches are managed by Parks Victoria or the Department of Environment, Land, Water and Environment (DELWP).

These beaches include:

  • Shoreham
  • Point Leo
  • Merricks
  • Somers
  • St Andrews
  • Rye Ocean Beach
  • Gunnamatta
  • Cape Schank
  • Point Nepean National Park
  • Portsea Ocean Beach
  • Flinders Ocean Beach

Engagement and Advocacy

The Shire also engages with the State government to influence broader coastal policy matters such as the proposed Marine and Coastal Act, the Victorian Coastal Strategy and the Regional Coastal Action Plan.

The Shire is an active member of the Association of Bayside Municipalities and directly employs experienced coastal planners who are responsible for facilitating positive outcomes for the coast through advocacy with partner agencies and the State government, liaising with the community, developing management plans, reviewing planning applications and coordinating improvement projects. The Shire is also responsible for ensuring strategies and policies are developed in line with State Government Legislation and Strategies.