Arts and Culture Advisory Panel (ACAP)

The Mornington Peninsula Shire values the significant contribution that the arts and cultural sector makes to the region. An Arts and Culture Advisory Panel has been established to work with Council to help shape priorities, direction and identify opportunities to grow and promote arts and culture across all of the Mornington Peninsula.

Members of the group have been drawn from diverse range of backgrounds and have extensive knowledge and experience.


Membership of the Panel is comprised of a Councillor Representative and Substitute Councillor Representative, Shire Officers and community and industry representatives who meet at least four times annually. 

Councillor Representatives

Chair - Councillor David Gill (Red Hill Ward)

Substitute Councillor Representative - Councillor Antonella Celi (Seawinds Ward)

Community and Industry Experts and Community Representatives

Penny Carnaby
Current committee member of Mornington Peninsula National Trust branch and Mornington Peninsula Heritage Network Committee; past MPRG Friends committee member.

Norman Creighton
Current ACAP member, gallery/studio operator, previous membership of several arts management and advocacy committees.

Jennifer Fletcher
Practising visual artist and president of Peninsula Studio Trail.

Melanie Gard
Director of Peninsula School of Dance since 2006.

Poul Grage
Drummer, percussionist, composer and teacher, currently Secretary of the Mornington Peninsula Music Network.

Patricia Macdonald
Guest curator at National Gallery of Victoria and Australia National Museum, Member of the Board of the Art Foundation of the National Gallery of Victoria and Member of National Gallery Women’s Association, Director of Christies Australia.

Jakki Mann
Previously Director of Bundoora Homestead Art Centre, and Project Officer at City of Darebin Arts & Culture Unit, currently consultant for several creative organisations.

Naomi Nicholson
Founder and former board member of Children’s Arena theatre.

Anthony Pope
Current ACAP member, President of Peninsula Chamber Musicians and Orchestra Victoria Musicians, practising classical musician.

Rebekah Pryor
Artist, curator and interdisciplinary researcher, previously Curator of Lamppost Gallery and finalist in the 65th Blake Prize.

Liz Walker
Award-winning visual artist and Police Point Artist in Residence in 2018.

Yvonne Watson
Current ACAP member and Manager of Oak Hill Gallery.

Shire Officers

Jane Alexander – Coordinator Arts and Culture/MPRG Director

Tracey-Lea Smith – Arts and Culture Development Officer

Sally Robins – Local History Coordinator


Further information

For further information contact Jane Alexander, Coordinator Arts and Culture on 5950 1583.

ACAP Terms of Reference(PDF, 350KB)

Arts and Culture Strategy(PDF, 3MB)

Council’s key strategic directions for arts and cultural development can be found in Our Peninsula 2021: Council Plan 2017-2021(PDF, 965KB).