Nominations now open for the 2020 Australia Day Awards!

Published on 07 October 2019

2019 Australia Day Local Award Winners.jpg

18 September 2019

Do you know someone whose efforts within our community should be recognised? Have you been to a local community event that you thoroughly enjoyed?

If you know a friend, family member, co-worker or school companion that has gone above and beyond to make the Peninsula a better place – nominate them for a 2020 Australia Day Award!

You can now acknowledge someone’s outstanding contribution to our community by nominating them in the categories of Citizen of the Year and Young Citizen of the Year.

Nominations for Community Event of the Year are also open where you can recognise a great community event that you have attended or helped to organise.

Mornington Peninsula Shire Mayor Councillor David Gill said “the Australia Day Awards celebrate the efforts made by members of the community to make the Mornington Peninsula an even better place to live and visit”.

“This is a great opportunity to recognise and honour someone you know for their valuable and selfless contribution by nominating them for the Australia Day Local Awards”.

Josie Jones from Rye earned the 2019 Citizen of the Year Award for her involvement and advocacy for reducing litter entering the Bay and protecting marine life.  

Josie is working on reducing cigarette butt litter, and has delivered anti-litter education campaigns to schools, community groups and businesses in an effort to raise awareness about the harm litter and plastic can do. Her belief that every child deserves to experience the environment untouched underpins the work she does.

Other 2019 winners were:

  • Young Citizen of the Year: Kayla Shelbourne
  • Community Event of the Year: Mornington Peninsula Schools Environment Week
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Heather Goddard
  • Acknowledgement of Excellence Award: Dolphin Research Institute
  • Bravery Award: Luke and Michael Treadwell
  • Community Inspiration Award: Colleen Mackay

These categories will again be available.


Nominations for the 2020 Australia Day Awards close Friday 8 November 2019.

Nominate online by visiting Alternatively, you can contact Christine Aslanidis on 5950 1137 or

PHOTO CAPTION: 2019 Australia Day Local Award winners. (L – R): Nepean Ward Councillor Hugh Fraser, Red Hill Ward Mayor Councillor David Gill, Mornington Peninsula Shire Council CEO John Baker, Young Citizen of the Year Kayla Shelbourne, Community Inspiration Award Winner Colleen Mackay, Community Event of the Year - Mornington Peninsula Schools Environment Week Organisers, Bravery Award Winner Michael Treadwell, Citizen of the Year Josephine Jones, Bravery Award Winner Luke Treadwell, Lifetime Achievement Award Heather Goddard, Nepean Ward Councillor Bryan Payne. 

Tagged as: