New Nepean Ward Councillor announced

Published on 15 April 2021


Susan Bissinger has been announced as the new Nepean Ward Councillor for the Mornington Peninsula Shire. She will join Deputy Mayor Cr Sarah Race representing communities in townships including Rye, Tootgarook, Blairgowrie, Sorrento and Portsea.

The extraordinary vacancy occurred due to the resignation of Councillor Hugh Fraser on Tuesday 9 March 2021.

The computer countback was hosted by the Victorian Electoral Commission on Tuesday 13 April 2021. The vacancy was filled through a countback of all the votes from the October 2020 general election. Only candidates who were unsuccessful at the general election, and remained eligible, could be included.

Ms Bissinger will take the Oath of Office at the Ordinary Council Meeting to be held Tuesday, 20 April 2021. The Councillor-elect will then be sworn in at the beginning of the Ordinary Council Meeting to be held Tuesday, 20 April 2021.

The results of the countback can be found online at

Quotes attributable to Acting Mayor, Cr Sarah Race

“On behalf of my fellow Councillors, I’d like to congratulate Susan on her appointment and welcome her to the Mornington Peninsula Shire Council”.

“As her fellow Nepean Ward Councillor I look forward to working with her to support our local community”.

“I’d also like to point out we now have seven female councillors, one of the highest representations of women on a local council in the state”.


Tagged as: