Mornington Peninsula Shire Council appoints new Mayor

Published on 17 November 2021

Mayor Marsh.jpg

The Mornington Peninsula Shire Council has elected Cr Anthony Marsh as Mayor and Cr Lisa Dixon as Deputy Mayor for the coming year.
The Mayor and Deputy Mayor were appointed at the Annual Council Meeting in Mornington on Tuesday 16 November.

New Mayor and Briars ward Councillor Anthony Marsh is the appointed representative on the Council’s Audit and Risk Committee, Innovation Advisory Committee and the MAV Emergency Management Committee. He is also the Shire’s Small Business Champion and Planning Services Committee Chair.

Cr Marsh has a degree in aerospace engineering and a master’s in business administration. His career background includes being a Commissioned Officer in the Royal Australian Air Force and founder of several entrepreneurial enterprises.

Outgoing Mayor Cr Despi O’Connor and Deputy Mayor Cr Sarah Race both spoke at the meeting, thanking their fellow councillors, Shire staff, the community and their families for all their support in what was a challenging year, particularly dealing with the Covid-19 pandemic.

Quotes attributable to Mayor Anthony Marsh

“I’m so excited and honoured to be elected as Mayor of the Mornington Peninsula Shire and can’t wait to work with the community as we tackle the challenges and opportunities ahead.

“Congratulations to Cr Lisa Dixon on her appointment as Deputy Mayor. We have so much to do over the coming 12 months including working hard to implement a range of Covid recovery measures and advocating to both state and federal governments for our fair share of financial support.

“I’d also like to congratulate our outgoing Mayor Cr Despi O’Connor and Deputy Mayor Cr Sarah Race for the past 12 months and thank them for the energy, compassion and kindness they brought to their roles.”

Quotes attributable to CEO John Baker
“On behalf of all of as at the Shire I’d like to congratulate Cr Marsh and Cr Dixon on their appointments. We are looking forward to working with them and their fellow councillors to achieve great things for our community over the coming year.
“I’d also like to thank our previous Mayor Cr O’Connor and Deputy Mayor Cr Race for their commitment and dedication throughout the past 12 months”. 

Pictured L-R: Mayor Cr Anthony Marsh and Deputy Mayor Cr Lisa Dixon.

Tagged as: