Skip to main content

Briars Ward

Briars Ward

Briars Ward makes up the area from Mount Eliza, through to Mornington and Mount Martha and borders Port Phillip Bay and Moorooduc.

The Briars Ward has three Councillors:


General enquiries contact: 1300 850 600 or 5950 1000
Councillor Bev Colomb
Contact: Phone: 5977 0612
Mobile: 0418 506 638


General enquiries contact: 1300 850 600 or 5950 1000
Councillor Andrew Dixon
Contact: Phone 03 9775 4860


General enquiries contact: 1300 850 600 or 5950 1000
Councillor Anne Shaw
Contact: Phone/Fax: 5975 1488
Mobile: 0409 514 238

Briars Ward was established in 2012 as part of the Victorian Electoral Commission’s recommended Electoral Representation Review.

Briars Ward Map

Download Briars_Ward Map.pdf (446KB) or visit our section on Ward Maps

Main Townships

• Mount Eliza
• Mornington
• Mount Martha

Features of the Briars Ward include:

• Shopping amenities including the Main Street Mornington, Mount Eliza shopping area the Mount Martha shops, as well as the Peninsula Lifestyle Shopping Centre.
• Several beaches and beach attractions including the Port Phillip Bay foreshore, Mornington beaches and pier, Mount Martha beaches and Ranelagh Beach, Moondah Beach, Canadian Bay and Daveys Bay.
• Balcombe Estuary and boardwalk.
• Golf courses including the Mornington Country Golf Club and the Shire’s Mount Martha Public Golf Course.
• Parks and Reserves including in Mount Martha: Joseph Harris Scout Park, Balcombe Reserve, Fairbarn Bushland Reserve, Ferrero Reserve, Hopetoun Norfolk Flora & Fauna Reserve, Sunshine Reserve; in Mount Eliza: Mount Eliza Regional Park, Emil Madsen Reserve, Moorooduc Quarry Flora & Fauna Reserve, Lorikeet Reserve, Howard Parker Reserve; and in Mornington: Camp Niall Scout Park, Schnapper Point, Dallas Brooks Park, Mornington Park, Narambi Reserve, Woods Bushland Reserve
• Mount Martha House, Bentons Square Community Centre and Mt Eliza Community Centre.
• Mornington Cemetery.
• The Mornington Racecourse.
• Health services including Beleura Private Hospital and The Bays Hospital.


• Balcombe Grammar School.
• Benton Junior College.
• Mount Martha Primary School.
• Mount Martha Pre School.
• Mount Martha Montessori Preschool.
• Osborne Primary School.
• Mount Eliza North Primary School.
• St Thomas More Primary School.
• Melbourne Business School.
• The Peninsula School.
• Toorak College.
• Mount Eliza Primary School.
• Kunyung Primary School.
• Mount Eliza Secondary College.
• Mornington Secondary College.
• St McCartans Catholic School.
• Padua Catholic College.
• Mornington Park Primary School.
• Mornington Primary School.


Page Last Updated: 16 November 2015